Corey Taylor is a Douchebag

30 09 2009

On Saturday, I went to a place called Fear Farm to see the End of Summer Scorcher. It was a day long concert with Sevendust headlining. It was 104 degrees with a completely clear sky, so I purposely didn’t get there in time to see all the bands. I walked in while Sick Puppies was playing. They have some song on the radio right now that I don’t really like, but they seemed decent live. Then, Otep took the second stage. This was my third time seeing them. They were facing the sun, the sound wasn’t great, and they only had a 30-minute set. I couldn’t hear the guitar most of the time. They’re much better headlining a dark place like the Clubhouse in Tempe. After that, Atreyu hit the main stage. I was pretty sure I didn’t like them. I was right. They suck. Next, it was back to the second stage for Shadows Fall. I’d never seen them before. They’re good live, but I just don’t get into a lot of their songs.

Five Finger Death Punch was next. I saw them at the first End of Summer Scorcher a year ago. They were great then. They went on when the sun was still up, and the crowd wasn’t insanely huge. At one point during a song I was singing along to, I swear that signer Ivan Moody saw me getting into it and pointed me out. This year it was a bit different. They were still great, but the crowd was easily ten times the size. It was nuts. The concert sold out, and this band had to have the biggest crowd of the whole show. They only played two songs from their new album, one of them being “Hard to See”, which is really pretty good. I don’t recall them playing either of the singles that were tacked onto their first album after it had been out for a while. They finished with “The Bleeding.” It was great.

Corey Taylor’s Junk Beer Kidnap Band took the stage after that. I was completely ready to be disappointed. Earlier in the week he was on the local radio station saying that it’s not metal, and that he didn’t care if anyone liked the band. He and his friends were having fun. It was very not metal. The first song they played was “Let’s Go Crazy” by Prince. They did some crappy originals (that weren’t very original), a Rolling Stones cover, and the two mellowest Stone Sour singles. Toward the end they seriously played the Cheers theme song. “Where everybody knows your name”? - Yeah, that song. They finished with “Wish” by Nine Inch Nails. That was cool, but it hardly made up for the other crap. At the very end Corey yelled, “fuck you!” into the mic. No Corey, Fuck you.

Having never seen Sevendust before, I waited around for them to play, and I once I heard a few songs, I left. They seemed pretty solid live, but I’m just not that into them and I had a headache.


Actions

Information

2 responses

17 03 2010
Ben

Each to their own…

10 11 2011
monstertrucker

Hu da fuq u r ?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

