Merry Xmas.

24 12 2010

I’m an emotionless robot and I don’t like Christmas. I don’t hate it, but I don’t like all that much. I gave up Christmas shopping years ago, with the exception of my son, because the experience makes me feel like an idiot. I worked in retail one year over Christmas, and the experience was awful. On the 23rd, there were people still in line for the registers an hour after we “closed”, and they were not happy. The next week was awful. Almost nobody came to the store to trade their little green rectangles for goods, but hordes came to do the opposite. The store was empty and dreary for the entire month of January. It seems it would be better for all if would just buy things that we need when we need them, instead of buying things for other people that they wouldn’t bother to part with their own money for at a certain time of year. Gift-giving makes sense when you’re buying gifts for people who can’t afford them (little kids), but not so much for people who would already own whatever you might give them if they really wanted one.

So there’s that, and then there’s the fact that I haven’t spent Christmas with my extended family in five years, and I actually like these people. In movies and TV shows, I’ve been subjected to the idea that spending time with family is what makes the holidays stressful and unpleasant, but staying away does the trick for me.

Today, I’m not an emotionless robot. Today, I’m a sad robot:

Actions

Information

One response

26 12 2010
Linkage is Good for You: Christmastime Again Edition

[…] Unfrozen Caveman – “Merry Xmas.” […]

Leave a Reply

